Now Playing Tracks

Fresh Roasted Festival: Sundance 2013 Award Winners

The culmination of the Sundance Film Festival is the Awards Ceremony which was hosted by Joseph Gordon-Levitt last evening. Over the course of the evening, the Sundance Institute announced the Jury, Audience, NEXT <=> and other special awards of the 2013 Sundance Film Festival.

John Cooper, Director of the Sundance Film Festival, said, “The films at our Festival this year truly reflect the unbridled passion, immense talent and diverse stories coming from the independent filmmaking community. I am confident that the awards presented this evening will fuel those films with special promise and that audiences will continue to champion the films they have discovered here.”

“The lively dialogue and genuine excitement sparked by the films over the past 10 days is sure to resonate as they further reach audiences in the weeks and months ahead,” commented Keri Putnam, Executive Director of Sundance Institute. “We congratulate and thank all of the filmmakers who shared their stories with us, and we look forward to continuing to support them.”

The competition juries, comprised of individuals from the worldwide film community with original and diverse points of view, select films from both the documentary and dramatic categories to receive a range of awards. Decided by Festivalgoers’ ballots, Audience Awards are bestowed upon films in each of the Festival’s four competition categories. 

The list of all winners are below, along with the Awards Ceremony:


U. S. Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic


U. S. Grand Jury Prize: Documentary

Blood Brother

World Cinema Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic


World Cinema Grand Jury Prize: Documentary

A River Changes Course

Audience Award: U. S. Dramatic presented by Acura 


Audience Award: U.S. Documentary presented by Acura

 Blood Brother


Audience Award: World Cinema Dramatic 

Metro Manila

Audience Award: World Cinema: Documentary

The Square

Audience Award: Best of NEXT

This is Martin Bonner

Directing Award: U. S. Dramatic

Afternoon Delight

Directing Award: U. S. Documentary

 Cutie and the Boxer

Directing Award: World Cinema Dramatic

Crystal Fairy

Directing Award: World Cinema Documentary

 The Machine Which Makes Everything Disappear

Cinematography Award: U. S. Dramatic 

Ain’t Them Bodies Saints

Cinematography Award: U. S. Dramatic 

Mother of George

Cinematography Award: U. S. Documentary 

Dirty Wars

Cinematography Award: World Cinema Dramatic


Cinematography Award: World Cinema Documentary

Who Is Dayani Cristal?

U. S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Achievement in Filmmaking

Inequality for All

U. S. Documentary Special Jury award for Achievement in Filmmaking 

American Promise

 U. S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Acting

Miles Teller & Shailene Woodley,The Spectacular Now

U. S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Sound Design

Shane Carruth & Johnny MarshallUpstream Color

 World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award


World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award for Punk Spirit

 Pussy Riot – A Punk Prayer

Editing Award: U. S. Documentary 

Gideon’s Army

Editing Award: World Cinema Documentary 

The Summit

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: U.S. Dramatic

In A World…

Screenwriting Award: World Cinema Dramatic

Wajma (An Afghan Love Story)

Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Prize 

Computer Chess

Short Film Grand Jury Prize 

The Whistle

Short Film Jury Award: US Fiction


Short Film Jury Award: International Fiction

The Date

Short Film Jury Award: Non-fiction 


Short Film Jury Award: Animation

Irish Folk Furniture

Short Film Special Jury Award for Acting

Joel NaglePalimpsest

Short Film Special Jury Award 

Kahlil JosephUntil the Quiet Comes

Short Film Audience Award, Presented by YouTube

Catnip: Egress to Oblivion

4 notes

  1. praxila reblogged this from roastedfilms
  2. roastedfilms posted this
To Tumblr, Love Pixel Union